Friday, June 10, 2016

It is time to take out the Republican refuse that continue to support Brownback

Every Kansas Senate race in Sedgwick County now has an opponent who's planning to run against a GOP person or Brownback ally who has done damage to Kansas. In the weeks to come, this site will be posting articles to help voters recognize which candidates are supporting Gov. Sam Brownback and his destruction of schools and other Kansas institutions. Donna L. Wirth will be running to occupy the seat vacated by Michael O'Donnel. Also running will be Deb Shepard who will try to oust John Witmer. -SJ Otto

Here are some other races made public in The Wichita Eagle:

The contests that will make up the next Kansas Legislature took shape Wednesday as the deadline for candidates to file passed.
All 165 seats – 125 in the House and 40 in the Senate – are up for election this year.
The Kansas Republican Party will try to keep or solidify holds on seats being vacated by a number of Wichita-area Republicans who chose not to seek re-election, including Mario Goico, Mark Hutton and Mark Kahrs in the House and Michael O’Donnell, Les Donovan and Steve Abrams in the Senate. A number of primaries will pit Republican against Republican.
Democrats, who have struggled to gain traction in Topeka, boast of what the party calls an unprecedented lineup of candidates, including a candidate in each Senate district for the first time in more than 30 years. They say they want to capitalize on voter angst related to tumult during the last two legislative sessions.

Open seats

Senate District 15

Incumbent Jeff King, R-Independence, the Senate vice president, is leaving.
Dan Goddard, 68, R, Parsons, former city commissioner and retired CEO of Great Plains Development Authority
Virgil Peck, 58, R, Havana, state House member and insurance agent
Chuck Schmidt, 66, D, Independence, retired superintendent of Independence schools

Senate District 25

Incumbent Michael O’Donnell, R-Wichita, is leaving to run for a seat on the Sedgwick County Commission.
Lynn Rogers, 57, D, Wichita, Wichita school board member
William Eveland, 51, R, Wichita
Jim Price, 45, R, Wichita, defense contractor

Senate District 27

Les Donovan, R-Wichita, is leaving after 19 years.
Lori Graham, 51, R, Wichita, business owner
Gene Suellentrop, 64, R, Wichita, state House member and business owner
Tony Hunter, 39, D, Wichita, attorney
For the rest click here.

No comments: